This section deals with which user interface elements should be pre-loaded when you run ClipMate. ClipMate can run with both Explorer and Classic loaded, either one, or none at all. It's a trade-off between startup time and responsiveness. With both interfaces loaded, ClipMate takes more time to come up. But they're ready when you want them. Furthermore, although you can load them both, only one will show at a time, so you can choose which to display when ClipMate is first run. Or you can choose to display nothing until you're ready to use them. It's perfectly acceptable to have them both loaded in the background, and showing "nothing". It's all up to you, and the way that you will use the program.
Confirm When Deleting Items From "Safe" Collections?
If you have a collection set to "never delete", you can have an extra measure of protection so that you don't inadvertently delete clips. You'll receive an "are you sure?" dialog.
Check for Updates and News?
When enabled, ClipMate will poll our server every 5 days to see if updates are available. If updates or new news articles are detected, a new "ClipMate Updates" or "ClipMate News" item appears on the main menu. Click to view the news about the update, which will contain any download links. For more information, see Automatic Update Check / ClipMate News.
Sort Collections Alphabetically
This determines the order in which collections appear in the Collection Tree and on the Select Collection, and Move/Copy to Collection menus. They can be ordered alphabetically, or by "sort key". If you use "sort key", you will order the collections in the Collection Tree by moving them up/down with the menu or the +/- keys.